To the man who helped me get a chocolate waffle from the vending machine

I’ll never forget you.

Maybe the reason why I’ll never forget you is that I feel that you were the first person who wanted to help me, without gaining something from it. Sure the airport employees were helpful and polite, but it was something they did because it was stipulated in their employment contracts.

But helping a young girl choose a chocolate waffle from a vending machine she doesn’t know how it works is not something that’s stipulated in a military man’s employment contract, is it? 🙂 Your job probably consists of protecting people and running from one place to another at the signal of your walkie-talkie.

I didn’t expect you to help me, and I remember I felt so silly asking you. But I was alone in a foreign country and I was hungry. And you…were kind and polite in a reserved manner and pointed out to what buttons I should use and with a soft smile you told me “Enjoy!”. There was something so amusing and out of ordinary in our short interaction and I am so fond of this memory.

The chocolate waffle tasted stale and too sweet, by the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment